IncubateIND brings off India’s Largest Aviation Hackathon

IncubateIND effectuates India’s largest Aviation Hackathon to disrupt the aviation sector. The main aim of the hackathon was to transform the Indian aviation and create the ‘Airports of tomorrow’. The hackathon was conducted on October 7 to 8 simultaneously in two cities. The coding in Delhi took place in NASSCOM 10,000 Startups and in Bengaluru, the venue was Kstart.

IncubateIND provides a fertile ground for networking and teamwork to students and professionals and helps to discover, create, work together, achieve collective goals, and pursue shared ambitions. Essentially, the company works with students, and entrepreneurs community to create workable solutions for better India. It works on solving world’s greatest problems through a technology-driven community of students, entrepreneurs, and government.

Bhaskar Bhatt, Managing Director, Titan and Chairman, Vistara, Som Mittal, Former President and Chairperson, NASSCOM and Air Marshal LK Malhotra inaugurated the event in Delhi and Bengaluru respectively. The guests for the event included Srinivas Peri, Senior Director NASSCOM  10000 Startups, Sunil Shekhawat, Regional Lead- North, NASSCOM 10,000 Startups, Saket Modi, Indian Ambassador of Cyber Security and Digital India, Garima Babber, Adobe, Nitin Sethi, VP Product Design and User Experience, Quikr, and Shalini Chandnani, Principal Consultant, Design for India.

Ravinder Pal Singh, Technologist was the chief architect of this Hackathon. He interacted with the young minds and motivated them to revolutionize the aviation sector through innovative technologies.

Putting an emphasis on the betterment of the airlines, he said, “This is my sincere attempt to bring young technocrats to fundamentally utilize easily available commodity technologies ranging from Cloud to AI to Bots to Bigdata to A(V)R to IoT to Robotics,”

“To infuse young geek and nerd computational brain into legacy thinking of airlines, thus modernize it for the betterment of the industry, its employees and most importantly Consumers of Airlines,” he added.

Talking about the hackathon, Samkit Sharma, Co-founder, IncubateIND and Punit Jain, Co-founder, IncubateIND said that aviation is just one sector they are working on. They will continue to disrupt the other sectors as well such as health, the blockchain, fin-tech, agriculture, and smart city etc.

The hackathon received an application in lakhs from all over the country. Out of which, 4,532 applications were selected for further filtration. The final filtration included 30 teams from each city who pitted against each other to create new applications and tools to address aviation-related challenges such as in areas such as, tracking traveller behaviour, personalization of air travel, intelligent crowd monitoring at airports, system integration with third-party APIs and software, in-flight entertainment and intelligent customer targeting, amongst other challenging aspects.

The solutions submitted at the hackathon was reviewed by a panel of technology and aviation experts led by Chief Jury, Air Marshal LK Malhotra.

The experts included Abhay Vaish, CTO, Erricson, Garima Babber, Head-Strategic Alliances, Education and Skill Development, Adobe Systems, Dhruv Singhal, Head Solutions Architecture, Amazon, India, Leelawadee Ungphakorm, Head of Solutions Management, Thailand-Indonesia-South Asia, Amadeus, Samir Karande, Enterprise Solutions Architect, Amazon Internet Services Private Limited, Supreeth Nagaraju, Head Education, West, South India and Sri Lanka region, Adobe Systems, India, Muthiah Venkateswaran, Partner, Kstart. They hand-picked winners, based on originality, the potential for scalability, and successful execution.

From Delhi, the winners involve Nishant Gore, Sahil Gautam, and Shubham Verma from the team Syndicate, who took the first place, Piyush Agarwal, and Niraj Kumar from the team Vistara Square grabbed the second place and Agam Singh, Diksha Walia, Prabjot Kaur, Rehraj Singh from Unpluggers came third.

In Bengaluru, Abhijith Appukuttan, Mehak Ghai, Ravi Chanchlani, and Sudhanwa GS from the team M.A.R.S came first, Vinay N, and Yogesh Ojha from the team Land Sharks grabbed the second place and CHidroop I, Anirudh Nori, Christen D’souza, Pratik Mohapatra, and Srihari HS from Aviation.io placed third.





Show More

Related Articles